About Us

Rural Community Services (West Cheshire) (RCS)

RCS (west Cheshire) was established as a charity in 2011.

Our mission is to offer accessible, enjoyable and enabling daytime activities for older people, to help reduce isolation and loneliness in the areas where we provide our services.

We provide a range of services for older people in our local rural communities:

OPAL Clubs

We run 6 OPAL Clubs, in Frodsham, Helsby, Kelsall, Malpas, Tarporley and Tattenhall. Members of OPAL Clubs are older people living within the host villages and their surrounding rural areas. More about OPAL clubs.

BreakTime

BreakTime is a service which aims to ‘give a break’ to unpaid Carers of older people living in the rural areas covered by RCS. More about Breaktime.

Carers Connect

Carers Connect is a service for carers in the rural areas of west Cheshire who are aged 60 or over, or anyone who is caring for someone over the age of 60.The scheme offers recreational activities, cultural events, visits to places of interest and information or training. More about Carers Connect.

Go Online

The GoOnLine service is aimed at providing access to the internet for OPAL Club members and other older people in rural areas, and potentially their family carers, to foster their use of the internet to pursue their personal interests and to help reduce isolation. More about GoOnline.

New Horizons

New Horizons is  a service covering the Frodsham area for people (over 50) who are having difficulty joining in with community activities without a practical and individualised support service. Our aim is to provide volunteer “buddies” who will help members to take up new hobbies and interests or reconnect with an old pursuit they’ve not been able to enjoy of late. More about New Horizons.

What’s Cooking

What’s Cooking is a community club aimed at helping older people to renew their interest and skills in cooking and to do so in good company and whilst having fun. More about What’s Cooking.

 

 

Our Staff

Organisers

Zoe Blocksidge                           zoe.blocksidge@opalservices.org.uk        07562 619 275

Brenda Platt                                brenda.platt@opalservices.org.uk            07851 104 210

Jean Toyn                                    jean.toyn@opalservices.org.uk                  07923 425 239

Julie Ennis                                   julie.ennis@opalservices.org.uk               07512 632 515

Elizabeth Miles                           elizabeth.miles@opalservices.org.uk        07856 095611

Administrator 

Linda Middleton                        linda.middleton@opalservices.org.uk     07851 214 163

Finance Administrator 

Morag Hutson                            morag.hutson@opalservices.org.uk

  

RCS Board of Trustees 

Nikki Boardman                        nikki.boardman@opalservices.org.uk       07843290538

P Cllr Gill Clough                       gill.clough@opalservices.org.uk               01829 733545

P Cllr Jane Colville  (Chair)       jane.colville@opalservices.org.uk            01829 752607

Eula Hersey                                 eula.hersey@homeinstead.email              01928 733376

Ilene Hoyle                                  ilenehoyle@gmail.com                                01948 861488

Roger Parrott (Secretary)         roger.parrott@opalservices.org.uk          01829 733545

Vicky Ridgeway                          v.ridgeway@chester.ac.uk                          01244 511 195

Gill Swash                                    gill.swash@opalservices.org.uk                 01928 733901

Mary Thompson (Treasurer)   mary.thompson@opalservices.org.uk     01829 733642

P Cllr John Webb                       johnwebbmalpas@hotmail.co.uk             01948 861019

  

Public Reports

Trustees Annual Report 2018

Annual General Meeting 2018

Trustees Annual Report 2017

Annual General Meeting 2017

Trustees Annual Report 2016

Annual General Meeting 2016

 

Annual General Meetings

Our 2018 AGM was held on Wednesday November 14th 2018, Manley Suite, Forest Hills Hotel in Frodsham.

Our next AGM will be held in November 2019. Details will be announced.

All members of the public, including our members, service users and volunteers, are welcome to attend our AGMs.