About Us

OPAL Services

OPAL Services (Older People Active Lives) is a charity in rural west Cheshire which offers 6 distinct services designed to join people together in a zest for life.  

OPAL began in 2011 and our initial purpose was to manage a number of OPAL clubs for older people in 5 rural locations to prevent social isolation and loneliness. These remain part of our core provision. We have grown as a service and recognise that an ageing population is part of a national trend.   As a result, the work we do through OPAL Services to connect and reconnect the older generation in rural communities, is becoming ever more vital.

We now offer a range of services to meet these needs that include:

OPAL Clubs

OPAL Clubs are a valued lifeline, getting people out of their houses and connecting with others for a home cooked lunch, a chat and activities, We run 6 OPAL Clubs, in Frodsham, Helsby, Kelsall, Malpas, Tarporley and Tattenhall. Members of OPAL Clubs are older people living within the host villages and their surrounding rural areas. More about OPAL clubs.

OPAL BreakTime

BreakTime offers respite breaks to those unpaid carers of older people who may be highly dependant. More about BreakTime.

OPAL Carers Connect

OPAL Carers Connect brings carers who are relatively new to being a carer together with others in the same situation. This service is for carers in the rural areas of west Cheshire who are aged 60 or over, or anyone who is caring for someone over the age of 60. The scheme offers recreational activities, cultural events, visits to places of interest and information or training. More about Carers Connect.

OPAL GoOnLine

OPAL GoOnLine offers older people and their carer’s opportunities to become more confident and competent in using the various types of communication technology. More about GoOnline.

OPAL Branching Out

Branching Out is a scheme funded from 1st July 2019 by the Marshes Community Fund and covers Frodsham, Helsby and the surrounding areas. It offers a range of ways for older people to reconnect with others in their local community and benefit from social connections. The scheme incorporates other OPAL offers and links with the OPAL Clubs and OPAL Carers Connect. More about Branching Out.

OPAL What’s Cooking

What’s Cooking is a community club aimed at helping older people to renew their interest and skills in cooking and to do so in good company and whilst having fun. More about What’s Cooking.

The Charity is managed by a trustee board, a number of employees who oversee individual services and volunteers. We are constantly exploring funding opportunities to maintain our service and regularly seek feedback from our members and stakeholders to enhance our service.

Our Staff

Organisers

Zoe Blocksidge zoe.blocksidge@opalservices.org.uk 07562 619 275
Julie Ennis  julie.ennis@opalservices.org.uk 07512 632 515
Samantha Moggan sam.moggan@opalservices.org.uk 07856 095611
Brenda Platt brenda.platt@opalservices.org.uk 07851 104 210
Jean Toyn jean.toyn@opalservices.org.uk 07923 425 239

Administrator 

Janice Eastwood    janice.eastwood@opalservices.org.uk  07851 214 163

Finance Administrator 

Morag Hutson morag.hutson@opalservices.org.uk

Volunteer Coordinator

Janet Handley 07592464856

Our Board of Trustees

P Cllr Gill Cloughgill.clough@opalservices.org.uk
P Cllr Jane Colville (Chair)jane.colville@opalservices.org.uk
Philip Hearfieldphearfield@live.co.uk
Ilene Hoyleilene.hoyle@opalservices.org.uk
Brian Mackiebrian.mackie@opalservices.org.uk
Vicky Ridgewayv.ridgeway@chester.ac.uk
Gill Swash gill.swash@opalservices.org.uk
Mary Thompson (Treasurer)mary.thompson@opalservices.org.uk
P Cllr John Webbjohn.webb@opalservices.org.uk
Rhiannon Wilsonrhiannon.wilson@btinternet.com

Public Reports

Annual General Meetings

Our 2019 AGM was held on November 13th 2019 at 6pm at Cheshire View, Plough Lane, Waverton, Chester, CH3 7PT.

Our next AGM will be held on 11th November 2020. Venue to be confirmed.

All members of the public, including our members, service users and volunteers, are welcome to attend our AGMs.